Braid, Cagney and Ohse
THE MASTERS: Tom Braid (left), Ed Cagney and Robert Ohse will be honored for their farming mastery Feb. 1.

3 Michigan farmers join Master Farmers

The 2018 Master Farmers are honored for outstanding farm management, innovation, conservation and leadership.

Three new farmers are being added to a distinguished list of Master Farmers. They join a list of highly respected Michigan producers who have been presented this award since the program began in 2005.

Michigan Farmer and Brownfield Ag News are proud to honor Tom Braid of Durand, Ed Cagney of Scotts and Robert Ohse of Custer as 2018 Master Farmers.

Honorees are designated as 2018 winners because the award is based on a career in agriculture and, therefore, designated with the year it is presented.

The awardees were nominated by peers and chosen by a committee of agriculture industry leaders based on farm management, innovation, conservation and leadership. The 2018 Master Farmers will be honored at a luncheon during the Great Lakes Crop Summit Feb. 1 at the Soaring Eagle Casino and Resort in Mount Pleasant. The sponsors are Corn Marketing of Michigan, Michigan Wheat Program and Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee. Master Farmers receive a plaque, Carhartt jacket courtesy of Carhartt and a $1,000 check, provided by Wilbur-Ellis, Greenstone Farm Credit Services and Michigan Agricultural Commodities.

Master Farmer history


Fred Tubbs
Mark Huggett
Walter Stafford

Dennis Hasenick
Bob Dykhuis
Dave Morris (honorary)

Pete Clark
Wally Huggett
Armon Southworth

John Crumbaugh
Todd Young
Kurt Ewald

Andy Snider
Dale Weburg
George Weburg
Clark Humrich

Paul Rood
Jeffery Sandborn
Carl Moore

Ken Swanson
Gary Bardenhagen
Bill Irrer

Ronald Helmreich
John Felzke
Frank Lipinski

Earl Barks
John Swanson
Tony Jandernoa

Richard Dobbins
John Schaendorf
Harley Sietsema

Olan and Kent Humm
Robert “Alan” Moore
Richard Lauwers

Delbert Crumbaugh
Brian Haskin
Andy Welden

Tim Brodbeck
David Williams
Ken and Ida Wadsworth

Tom Braid
Ed Cagney
Robert Ohse

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.